There are many reasons countless people choose to go vegetarian. Some opt to go meat-free for health reasons, others for their stand on animal welfare – there are people who are also bound to have a strictly vegetarian diet because of religion.
Regardless of your reason for going vegan, it takes a lot of discipline to unwaveringly stick to abstaining from eating meat or any animal product.
If you are just beginning to transition to being a vegetarian, you have to make sure that you are doing it the right way.
When you are a beginner in the world of vegetarianism, there could be many deceitful foods you can easily be tricked by. You might be unknowingly consuming these deceptive foods if you are not that well versed in being a true blue vegetarian.
Here is a list of some of the foods most commonly mistaken as meatless goods:
Beer or Wine – While beers and wine don’t seem to be connected to any meat by any means, sadly, there are some beer and wine brands that contain gelatine or isinglass. Isinglass is an ingredient derived from bladders of fish. Most beer brands from Britain have isinglass.
White or refined sugar – For white sugar to be processed, animal bone char are usually being used. That means you may want to stick to brown or unrefined sugar.
Worcestershire sauce – Unfortunately, the traditional Worcestershire sauce has anchovies. The good news is, you can make your own alternative of this favourite condiment at home so you can ensure that only vegan ingredients are used.
Jelly, Jell-O, marshmallow, gel cap meds, and gummy bears – All these items contain gelatine, which comes from animal collagen.
Dressing – Salad is one of the most popular food choices for many vegetarians. The bad news is that some of the usual salad dressings we use for, say, Caesar salads, contain anchovies. Other salad dressings, on the other hand, may contain bacon fat.
Orange Juice – Unless you have personally squeezed oranges to prepare your very own natural orange juice at home, you are risking consumption of fish oil. Fish oil is contained most especially for orange juice brands that claim to be good for the heart as these contain Omega 3 fatty acids.
Soups – Some soups being sold at traditional restaurants, even when they are supposed to be made solely from veggies, still contain beef or chicken broth. Also be wary of canned soup, even when they are labelled vegetable soup, for sometimes they use animal stock, as well.
Nowadays, it seems that in order for vegetarians to be absolutely sure that all the foods they eat are free from any animal product, they have to prepare it themselves. If you are extremely keen on maintaining a totally vegetarian diet, don’t forget to read the ingredients and don’t be shy to ask if the seemingly vegan food from the restaurant is truly meat free.